**My Boyfriend**

When we met, he was 17 and I was 18. We frequently talk about how naive and innocent he was compared to me at that time (which he was).

But, this morning, we were laying in bed together, curled up in each others arms and he was doing his little “light touch, finger caressing” thing he does. I was wide awake, because I took my ADD meds at 6am. But, he was still groggy and mostly asleep (hadn’t even opened his eyes yet). I was looking around the room at the various pictures and considering our relationship, most especially, how far we’ve come from those two kids we were when we met.
I couldn’t help but smile, even as he lay there oblivious to my thoughts, still mostly asleep, but slowly working his way towards making love to me.

We made love and it went from groggy, slow, romantic, soft and sweet, to crazy, raucous and wild before we were done. Afterward we talked and I brought up what I was thinking about. I told him that in retrospect, we were both very naive and innocent then. He started to disagree, but when I explained, compared to who we are today, he agreed. We enjoyed a few smiles and memories of the past together.

One of the things I love the ┬ámost about our relationship, is that we’ve traversed such a wide array of relationship structures together. We were “just friends”, we were “best friends”, we’ve been FWB, we’ve been roommates, we’ve been coworkers, we have parented together, moved together, traveled together and committed to remaining together-regardless of what “shape” or “form” that together may take. It’s an amazing thing to know someone loves you enough to accept whatever it is you have to give them, without insisting that you ┬áhave to be in a specific role with them to matter. :)

5 thoughts on “**My Boyfriend**

    • That’s a hard question to answer. We’ve had some sort of relationship for 20 years come this April. It’s altered to fit the circumstances as needed. We define our anniversary by that date. We don’t define it by what date we started “dating” because there’s not way to define that easily as we have dated several different times with no “break up” just merging into whatever form of relationship was needed at any given time.

      • Yes, I suppose it is. Of course, I’ve been with my husband for 15 years in March and we’ve known each other for 25 years. ;) I’m not into short term relationships. I tend to be very picky about who I date-so when I date, it tends to be with someone whose going to be in my life forever, in one role or another. ;)

      • im the same way. no need in investing in someone and then cutting them out just bc it didnt work. if i date you, we’ll be friends even if the romance doesnt last. :)

Leave a Reply

